top of page

LAKBAY MALACCA STATE : A DAY TRIPS FROM MALACCA MALAYSIA

Honestly, I have never imagined I would have the chance to visit Malacca. It wasn't on my things-to-do list and I never heard about this place before. But for some reasons my original plan was changed when I arrived at Kuala Lumpur. I had to eliminate one plan on my to-do list which was hiking at Bukit Tabur. Upon searching on the Internet while waiting for my turn with immigration I read that according to Selangor Forestry Department, the mountain was permanently close for hikers because of the recent amount of deaths that happened there. I felt sad and worried because I had to change plan. So when I arrived at my AIRBNB I asked my host for an alternative plan and he suggested me to explore Malacca.

Getting to Melaka Sentral

I took a bus bound to Melaka at TBS (Terminal Bersepadu Selatan) terminal in Kuala Lumpur. It was 1 and a half hours journey going to Melaka Sentral. While on the bus, I was having a baggage of worries knowing for the fact that I have only limited information about Melaka State but when I arrived at Melaka Sentral Terminal, I sucked up all my worries and negativity and then I started exploring the Historic Town with a big smile.

Terminal Bersipadu Selatan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysi

Melaka Sentral. Melaka Malaysia

Here’s how my day went on exploring Malacca, and I hope this would somehow help you guys when planning your Malacca state trip :

A stroll along the Dutch Square

I immediately get out of the cab when I see the narrow street surrounded by the red-colored buildings. Those bloody red structures really catches my attention to the point that I unintentionally forgot to pay for my taxi fare (overwhelm yarn? Lol ). After paying for my fare I decided to walked towards the bloody street. I've learned that the name of the street is Jalan Laksamana, I was also amazed to know that those red buildings was actually built around 1660 and 1700 during the British occupation in town.

Continue walking through the street of Jalan Laksamana lead me to the Dutch Square. Around area you will see the Christ Church Melaka which is the oldest functioning Protestant church in Malaysia. You will also see the youth museum and art gallery, tang beng swee clock tower, and the Stadthuys.

Climbing up to Bukit St.Paul

When I see people behind the youth museum and art gallery taking up the stairs, I got curious so I asked someone where are those people going to? "to Bukit St.Paul". From it's name, I knew it was a church. And I was actually right. When I reached the top, I see the almost beaten down Church and according to the souvenir sellers It was built in 1521 by the Portuguese and is the oldest church building in Malaysia.

A quick stop at the British Graveyard

Just behind the St.Paul's ruin there's the British Graveyard. I had no plans of going inside the graveyard because it was kind of creepy and there were no other tourist going in but I sucked up my girly side and I confidently goes inside and took some pictures.

Take a look back in time at A Famosa Ruins

Just a few stairs down from St. Paul, You will see the A Famosa. It is a Portuguese fortress built on 1511 and is among the oldest surviving European architectural remains in South East Asia. Upon inspecting the wall of the fortress, I can see how dilapidated the ruins is. The wall started to fall into pieces and the colors are obviously fading over the years.

A quick glance to Melaka Sultanate Days

Just a few steps away from A Famosa ruins, You will see the entrance gate of Malacca Sultanate Palace. After taking a lot of pictures of A Famosa, I waste-no time but discover the rich culture of Malacca Sultanate state. Please be advised that there's an entrance fee amounting to RM5. The Malacca Sultanate Palace was officially opened as a museum on 17 July 1986 and it showcases the history of the region. Wearing shoes, sandals, slippers or any other footwear is not allowed when going inside the museum.

Have a break at Dataran Pahlawan Megamall

It was already afternoon when I finished inspecting those period-pieces inside Sultanate Palace Museum. I was sweating because of the scorching hot sun, so I decided to take a break and have a cooler atmosphere at Dataran Pahlawan Megamall. It's one of the most popular shopping malls in town. It houses local and international brand, Entertainment and a wide array of specialty shops. It's just few minutes walking from A Famosa ruins.

A quick visit to Flor de la mar museum

After chilling in at Dataran Palahwan Mall, I decided to continue my Malacca tour. The sun was still soaring so I decided to take a cab going to Flor de mar museum. It was just 10 minutes ride from the mall. The museum is a replica of an actual Portuguese ship that sunk in the coast of Sumatra in 1511. I learned more interesting facts about the history of Malacca while touring inside the museum. The ship participated in decisive events in the Indian Ocean for over nine years until its sinking in November 15211.

A Romantic Melaka river cruise (Alone) Lol!

Are you alone sir? was the most asked question I'd received from this trip. Isn't it obvious that I'd no companion? Oh well, Maybe the crew were just thinking why a good looking guy like me (Lol!) taking a romantic river cruise alone? Anyway, taking a river cruise would be a good idea because you could have a brief glimpse into areas of the city without wasting any sweats just sit back, relax and always prepare your camera.

I got lost at Plaza Mahkota

I was looking for the Jonker Street when I got lost at Plaza Mahkota. It was already far from the Jonker walk and I didn't know how I ended up roaming around Plaza Mahkota. I remember I was just walking and following the google map going to Jonker Street. Anyway, It was also a good experienced because I got to see those colorful buildings that I only used to see from the Netherlands postcards. It's really look like a small Dutch Village.

Jaunting through the Street of Jonker Walk

Since I couldn't find the Jonker Walk, I decided to just book an UBER from Plaza Mahkota. And yeah, It was actually a bit far from Jonker Walk. I am pretty sure that it would consume 20-30 minutes walking going there. When I get out of the Cab I suddenly felt hungry, So I look for the restaurant and decided to eat first before exploring the street market.

After eating, I started roaming around the street of Jonker Walk. It is filled with 17th-century houses along it’s left and right sides that converted into shops selling traditional Malaysian cuisines, handicrafts, textile, and souvenirs. There's also some temples, a fortune teller, and street foods seller along the straight and narrow street of Jalan Hang Hebat (Jonker Street).

The long narrow five hundred meter Jonker street are closed to traffic during Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays night for a night market. The atmosphere was actually like in Divisoria because of people doing their best on bargaining. This is also one of the best places to hunt and bargain for antiques. This is absolutely one of the best street markets I have been to so far.

My day trips from Malacca ends at Jonker Walk. I'd finished around 7p.m and I was deadly tired. I wanted to shopping and explore more but I had to sleep early that night because I'd needed to catch up my early morning trip back to Kuala Lumpur the next day. This trip made me totally in love with Malacca. I may not explore all places there but every moments I had in there will definitely stays in my heart forever.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page