top of page

LAKBAY MALAYSIA : BEST OF JONKER WALK

I am not new to street shopping or night market. We all know that this scene is very common in most Asian countries. And me being a proud Filipino, I love going to street bazaar. I love bargaining until I get the products for the price I want. I remember when I was a kid, I always go to Divisoria with my mom to do errands every month that made me enjoy going to street shopping.

It was almost 3 in the afternoon when I decided to explore the famous shopping street of Melaka, Jonker Walk. I’d just finished eating Malaysian Laksa (The most sour food I have ever tasted so far) and the sun is still searing yet people were already rushing to the narrow street of Jonker Walk.

While roaming around the street, I started to feel like I was actually in Divisoria – the most popular street shopping extravaganza in the Philippines. The vibes of people doing their best on bargaining made me feel at home (Philippines). I have also noticed that most people were coming there not to do shopping but to eat and try different types of street foods.

I tried to eat the Malaysian version of Chicken Rice. For me, there’s nothing special about this food. It’s just composed of Chicken, Fried Rice and Chili on the side. It was just so intriguing as many people were coming there to eat.

The Street of Jalan Hang Jebat or famously known as Jonker Walk is filled with 17th century houses along it’s left and right sides that converted into shops selling traditional Malaysian cuisines, handicrafts, textile and souvenirs.

I have also learned that the best time to visit Jonker Walk is during weekends. Starting Friday night, the road is closed off for traffic and turns into crowded night market.

The street shopping and night Market of Jonker Walk is one of the best place I have been to so far. I will definitely go back here again – maybe this time with my mom. I highly recommend this place to explore when visiting Melaka State.

Transport

Most bus services to and from Melaka and Kuala lumpur leave from TBS or Terminal Bersepadu Selatan. The travel time is about 1 and a half hours – 2 hours depending on a traffic situation.

The first trip leave at 7am and continues till 11pm. There are 2 more bus station in Kuala Lumpur such Putra bus terminal and Hentian Pekeliling just not really sure if they have bus servicing to Melaka.

JONKER WALK STREET SHOPPING AND NIGHT MARKET

Address: Jalan hang jebat, 75200 Melaka, Malaysia

Contact: +60 6-284 8282

Schedule: Friday – Sunday From 6PM – 10PM

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page