top of page

LAKBAY MANILA : INTRAMUROS - THE WALLED CITY

Intramuros is the oldest district and historic core of Manila. It also called as the Walled City. It was built in the late 16th century and served as a defensive or protection walls from the opponent. Intramuros was heavily damaged during the battle to recapture the city from the Japanese Imperial Army during the Second World War. Reconstruction of the walls was started in 1951 when Intramuros was declared a National Historical Monument, which is continued to this day by the Intramuros Administration.

It was rainy Sunday when I went to Intramuros. I originally planned to just visit the National Museum of the Philippines but then I finished early so I decided to explore the walled city since its just few minutes away from the Museum.

When I started walking in the street of Intramuros, I felt like the year came so fast. As I’ve saw several things and structures that was built in Spanish Colonial, my mind were suddenly traveled back in time wherein the Second World War was just Started. what would I think? or what would I do? if I was there. Would I survive from the powerful bomb of Japanese Imperial Soldier? Would I possibly skip from the brutal Japanese soldier? These strange thought were playing in my mind and brought me goosebumps while I am roaming around the historic city.

I decided to visit first The fort Santiago. This place is not new to me as it was my second visit there. I remembered my first visit, It was with my Czech Republican friend who was a photographer that based in Prague. He actually inspires me doing the photography. That day I started shooting a scene in Fort Santiago and since then I started to love selfie-ing,.. Just kidding. That day I started to love taking photos.

Fort Santiago is a citadel first built by Spanish conquistador, Miguel Lopez de Legazpi. It is one of the most important historical sites in Manila. Dr.Jose Rizal, which happend to be the Philippine national hero, was imprisoned here before his execution in 1896.

Inside the Fort Santiago, I also visited Rizal Museum wherein the samples of Dr.jose Rizal’s work were placed. The most moving of the displays are the several reproduction of Mi Ultimo Adios. The poem detailing Rizal’s final goodbye has been translated into several languages.

​​

After the moving tour at the Fort Santiago, I decided to go home as the rains started to poured. I hired a Kalesa(horse gig) going to Manila City hall. It was my first time riding a Kalesa and I liked it. I felt so Pinoy. Lol! The kind kalesa driver insisted to drop me in Manila Cathedral and Palacio del Governador just for me to have a quick glance and to have photos of it. Thanks to that kind driver.

Manila Cathedral is a Roman Catholic Basilica located at Plaza de Roma in Intramuros Manila. It was officially established in 1571 by a secular priest, Juan de Vivero. It was damaged and destroyed several times by an earthquake and bombardment during the battle of Manila in the Second World War.

Palacio Del Gobernador is the first official residence of the Spanish Governor General. It was built in 1645 and is located at Plaza de Roma in Intramuros Manila, just Across Manila Cathedral. At the present, the office of the Intramuros Administration is housed here.

Intramuros or the walled city is really amazing and a must visit place in Manila. I, myself really enjoyed my second visit and will surely comeback here to explore more the place and maybe to look for a good place to dine. This historical place is one of my favorite spot in the City of Manila.

HOW TO GET THERE?

1.Regardless of which LRT station you boarded or come from, alight at the Central Terminal Station. It is the station near the Manila City Hall and the Metropolitan Theater.

2.From the Central Terminal Station, walk towards the Park N Ride bus terminal.

3.Walk along Dr. R. Basa Street, which is found between Park N Ride and the back side of the Metropolitan Theater.

4.As you reach the end of Dr. R. Basa Street, you will see a set of stairs that will lead you to an underpass. The entrance to the underpass is just near the 7-11 convenience store.

5.Use the underpass and then exit to Padre Burgos Avenue.

6.From the underpass, walk straight ahead to reach the corner of Padre Burgos Avenue and Anda Street.

7.Turn left and walk along Anda Street until you reach the gate of Intramuros.

8.Upon entering the gate of Intramuros, the first thing that you will see is the Colegio de San Juan de Letran.

BREAKDOWN OF EXPENSES

Php8.00 Jeepney fare from Makati to Buendia LRT Station Php15.00 LRT Ticket to Central Terminal Php75.00 Fort Santiago Entrance Fee Php10.00 Museum Entrance Fee inside Fort Santiago. Php250.00 Kalesa Ride. Please be remind that the rate is 250/Half Hour (Optional) Php15.00 LRT Ticket to Gil Puyat Station Php8.00 Jeepney Fare from Buendia to Makati

Php381.00 Total Expenses.

Have you visited Intramuros Manila lately? Leave a comment and share about your experienced in exploring the walled city.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page